top of page


What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

This is the statutory curriculum for all children aged between birth and five years old.

At Tiny Stars we recognise that this is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.

We ensure that from when your child joins us until their final day that their early years experience is happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and we support their development, care and learning needs.

How will my child be learning at Tiny Stars Nursery?

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first: 

• Communication and language
• Physical development
• Personal, social and emotional development.


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas

• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Expressive arts and design
• Understanding the world


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Your child’s teacher will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. The Early Years Foundation Stage is designed to be flexible so that the teachers can follow your child’s individual needs and interests and adapt their learning accordingly.

Children at Tiny Stars learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

bottom of page